What The Heck Was I Thinking?

customtouch

Just made a trip back to New Mexico to see my Mom for Mothers day and while I was there a discussion came up about the first boat that I ever owned. I bought it in the late 70's as the second owner, which was a few years after I graduated from High School and kept it until 1990 when I bought my Stratos Tunnel Hull. I took the boat back to N.M. and left it for my parents or whom ever to use but I guess it just got put out in the field on their farm and never used. It has just been sitting there for 23years so I decided to bring it back and maybe restore it. I need another project like a drowning man needs a glass of water!!!!!! In it's day it was a pretty cool boat (at least I thought so back then) but now it reminds me of a jet ski with an outboard motor on it. LOL!! It is a 1970 14.6 ft. Piranha made by Mur-Tex of Amarillo and has a 1978 Evinrude 85hp motor on it. The outside of the boat is still in pretty good shape but the floors,stringers, and transom will have to be replaced. I think the motor will probably still run because it still turns over freely and sounds like it has good compression. When I get a chance I am going to see if I can get the motor to fire up and decide what I will do with it then. I had a lot of good times in that boat and although it would not be worth much to anyone else, it just seemed like such a waste to be sitting there rotting. Please try to refrain from making comparisons to the CJ!!! LOL!!!! :grin:  JK

Crusader

Wow...ya just can't put a price on nostalgia! I wish I could find some of the relics I treasured while in High school....like my old 1981 Corvette....Old Sea Winds 20'5 bow rider boat....etc.

I'm glad you still have this boat...hope to see it on the water sometime.

Devilman

Pretty cool that you got it back after all this time. Looks pretty damn good for sittin in a field for 23 years.

customtouch