Loose Jet at launch

J C Gordon

Well boat run extremely well sunday on the motor still having problems with the holeshot, David is getting me a loaner to try in an A/B instead of the aluminum B I have. It pulled the B to 6600rpm and never cavitated the pump. Runs strong as soon as it loads pump. Problem being is that it takes a second that I dont have for it to load.. Boat ran very well in Oct outta the hole and now it doesnt, my thinking is that maybe the water was a little thicker due to the lake rolling over. I'm thinking a bowl bleed and a pre-impeller.. ANy thoughts out there?

KONA77

well over all i am still learning about jets and how they actually work,  but i would say your thinking is right on, don't need any air in the bowl, and the more water you can get in there the better off you are, that's my .02

Devilman

When you say "bowl bleeder" you talking about one of them little checkvalve deals some peeps put in the top of the bowl? I was under the impression that was to "burp" the pump, helping to eliminate the formation of air pocket in the pump upon launching... Not sure if it would do anything to load the pump on holeshot though. I mean, if you are already cruising around & making passes, kinda doubtful you'd still have air in the bowl right?

For the launch thing, probably an inducer/pre-impellar is more of what is gonna take care of that. heard some peeps using a stuffer plate to help in that situation too...

Thats my uneducated opinion, just based on what I've read here, there, & yonder... :cool:

J C Gordon said: